Skip to content

Shredded Brussels Sprouts Salad With Burrata Cheese

October 25, 2012

 

Birth of the blog! Let’s start at the very beginning……. Randy and I were having a quiet Friday night in front of the fire last Fall and out comes The Shredded Sprouts Salad with a nice (glass) of wine. This started a conversation about journaling my recipes which then evolved…light bulb… into writing a Blog! (Who, Me?) My immediate concerns were discussed, the technical aspect of pulling a blog together, camera, the vision and stepping outside my comfort zone. I spent the next six months cataloging and researching my new found project. With the support of Randy and encouragement of my kids …here I am!! A year later… we are celebrating with a shredded sprouts salad and a nice (bottle) of wine…fireside!! Cheers!

Shredded Sprouts Salad with Burrata Cheese

Serves 4 side salads or 2 entrees

1 small red onion, cut into 1/2 inch rounds

4 tablespoons olive oil

Salt and pepper

2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

1 pound brussels sprouts, shaved

1/2 cup parmesan cheese shavings

2 tablespoons lemon juice

1 teaspoon honey

1 tablespoons shallot, minced

1 ball burrata cheese

Toss onion with 1/2 tablespoon oil and pinch of salt. In a saute pan, add 1/2 tablespoon oil and onions over medium heat til charred, about 4 minutes. Place onions in a bowl and toss with vinegar. Let the mixture set for 10 minutes. Drain and chop into small bits. Using a mandolin shave the brussels sprouts (or slice very thin). In a bowl add the brussels sprouts, onions, parmesan and mix. In a small bowl combine 3 tablespoons olive oil, lemon juice, honey, shallot, salt, and pepper. Combine dressing and sprout mixture. For an entree salad, plate sprouts and top with half of burrata cheese.

I love brussels sprouts. Now! Growing up….not so much. Mom (sorry) but you killed em! We may actually have a lost generation of sprouts eaters due to our mothers over boiling them! Please re-visit and give these healthy vegetables another try. Roasting with olive oil, salt and pepper is ideal. However, give this raw salad a try. Add Burrata cheese, which has a liquid center of fresh cream, and this dish becomes rich and hearty enough for an entree. Shredding the sprouts gives each bite a nice crunch with an earthy, nutty flavor!!

Have fun with these beautiful stalks! They make for great conversation and a seasonal arrangement!!!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2012 11:32 am

    I love your blog.I follow many food bloggers as I write a blog for a restaurant in Wisconsin. I believe it is your niece Maddie who recommended it to me. The photography and writing are wonderful and I have saved all your recipes. Congratulations on the ability to take an idea and bring it to fruition! Very well done! I only hope I can find burrata cheese in my area, it sounds delicious!

    • October 26, 2012 2:08 pm

      Thank You!! Maddie has mentioned that she met you and I really appreciate your feedback!

  2. October 26, 2012 4:59 pm

    Yum! This sounds delicious, always looking for new brussel sprout recipes. You are quite the food stylist and photographer, the blog looks great!

  3. Megan permalink
    October 28, 2012 2:16 am

    Thank you for re-introducing me to this delectable treat! I have not eaten a Brussels sprout in 30 years. My taste buds have horrific memories. Followed your recipe, it was delicious, and I feel so virtuous for creating something healthy for my family. Many thanks!

  4. boehemfamilychallenge permalink
    October 29, 2012 8:32 pm

    I am becoming a cook now that my kids are grown, you should’ve started this when the kids were young so they could enjoy the delicious recipes on you blog. Sorry kids

Leave a Reply

